UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



OFFICE OF THE PROVOST AND EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT 1111 Franklin Street, 12th Floor Oakland, California 94607-5200

March 15, 2022

ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR ROBERT HORWITZ

Dear Chair Horwitz,

Thank you for your update on the latest revisions to Senate Regulation 478 and the approved UC course criteria for Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) Area 7 – Ethnic Studies. I recognize and extend deep gratitude for the leadership that the Academic Senate and UC ethnic studies faculty workgroup have demonstrated in facilitating two systemwide reviews to incorporate a new ethnic studies requirement into the existing IGETC pattern.

We will continue intersegmental coordination as CSU IGETC Area 7 criteria are finalized and provide close consultation to the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office Ethnic Studies Task Force as they develop a systemwide approach to scaffold robust implementation of ethnic studies curricula and course offerings beginning fall 2023. Additional next steps will include development and application of changes to ASSIST.org to enable articulation of ethnic studies courses and discussion with CSU Chancellor's Office colleagues regarding how the addition of IGETC Area 7 may impact associate degrees for transfer specifically and transfer students more generally.

Finally, I wish to acknowledge the momentousness of this shared accomplishment. As we establish ethnic studies as a general education expectation at the University of California, we center our students as well as critical, culturally responsive, and timely approaches to learning, teaching, and research across our state. Thanks to you and to the Academic Senate for your role in realizing this change.

Sincerely,

Michael T. Brown, Ph.D.

Michael J. Brown

Provost and

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

cc: Vice President/Vice Provost Gullatt Director Lin Executive Director Baxter Senate Directors