

May 19, 2023

To: Jessica Cattelino, Chair

Academic Senate

Re: (Systemwide Senate Review) Proposed Revisions to APM-210, Review and Appraisal

Committees

Dear Chair Cattelino,

At its meeting on May 9, 2023, the Faculty Welfare Committee (FWC), reviewed and discussed the Proposed Revisions to APM-210, Review and Appraisal Committees. Members offered the following comments.

Members were unclear as to the purpose of the revision to APM-210. It was pointed out that valuable scholars and teachers should be evaluated in part by their contribution to the community of scholars and teachers to which they belong. The value of a scholar and mentor should not be judged solely by their publications and classroom teaching but in addition by their indirect contributions to their scholarly work and the development of others. The proposed revisions outlined, label this additional contribution as "mentoring."

The committee agrees that mentoring is a component of the value of a scholar, but is skeptical about how it is proposed to be assessed. Members voiced great concern about the shifting and vague meaning associated with mentoring. Members questioned if aiding the social-emotional development of students should be in the same category as teaching them to be effective scholars. How is professional generosity to be measured? "Mentoring" in this statement is subjective and not clearly distinguished from teaching and service. There was confusion among the members as to the origin and justification of the proposed revisions which are not well-defined. FWC is not in support of the proposed revisions to APM-210 and requests a justification detailing the origin of the change and charge.

Thank you for the opportunity to opine. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at bonacich@soc.ucla.edu or via the Committee analyst, Renee Rouzan-Kay, at rrouzankay@senate.ucla.edu.

Sincerely,

Phillip Bonacich, Chair

Faculty Welfare Committee

Phillip Bonouch

cc: Andrea Kasko, Vice Chair/ Chair-Elect, Academic Senate
Shane White, Immediate Past Chair, Academic Senate
April de Stefano, Executive Director, Academic Senate
Renee Rouzan-Kay, Senior Policy Analyst, Faculty Welfare Committee
Members of the Faculty Welfare Committee