

FACULTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE College of Letters and Science

A265 Murphy Hall Box 951571 Los Angeles, California 90095

To: Joseph Bristow, Chair, Academic Senate

Fr: Aaron Tornell, Chair, College Faculty Executive Committee

Date: November 20, 2018

Re: College FEC response to Systemwide Review of Revised Presidential Policy on

Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment

The College FEC appreciates the opportunity to comment on the proposed revisions to the Presidential Policy on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment. We reviewed the draft of the policy at our meeting on November 2, 2018. We were joined by Marian Olivas to highlight the key revisions to the document.

Members raised the following concerns about the document:

- The revised policy does not clearly define a timeline for the informal assessment.
- Although the note in II.B.1 (Definition of Prohibited Conduct) states that "this definition encompasses a broad spectrum of conduct, not all of which constitutes sexual violence," the definitions within sexual assault – contact seemed too prescriptive. If the goal is to enumerate all possible behaviors, then the list should be more extensive than as currently drafted.
- The revisions recommend that the Alternative Resolution process be completed promptly "typically within 30 to 60 business days." How are "business days" defined? While some units operate year-round, many do not. For the College, in particular, the summer is a period during which there is a recess and many faculty members and students are away.

As always, our membership appreciates the consultative process and welcomes the opportunity to participate in the discussion of important matters like this. You are welcome to contact me at tornell@econ.ucla.edu with questions. Mitsue Yokota, Academic Administrator, is also available to assist you and she can be reached at (310) 794-5665 or myokota@college.ucla.edu.

cc: Lucy Blackmar, Assistant Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education Initiatives Valeria Dimas, Executive Assistant, Academic Senate Linda Mohr, Chief Administrative Officer, Academic Senate Marian Olivas, Senior Committee Analyst, Academic Senate